Gap Theory

Gap_TheoryLet’s face it; no education is perfect. If that were so, you would know absolutely everything upon graduating and no further learning would be needed. The truth is, every education is going to have some “gaps”. The question is: Where are yours?

While I believe in giving our children the best education I possible can, I only have so much time and so many resources available to me. It would be physically impossible for me to cover each area of study perfectly. It is also quite unfair for me to expect our children to absorb all of that information and retain it.

No; it seems gaps are inevitable. Somewhere along the line an area of study will not be covered quite as thoroughly as I could have or, heaven forbid, might get skipped over entirely. (Remember my whole tying the shoes error? Totally skipped that all important lesson; accidentally, of course.)

So, the question doesn’t seem to be whether or not our children will have gaps in their education, but, rather, where those gaps will be found.

Where would a gap in education not be acceptable? I would have to say theology (including world view apologetics and logic). No other area of our children’s learning is more important or more fundamental to the rest of their lives. No; theology should and will be the most solid part of their education.

Why theology? Theology is the study of God and religious belief. It is our belief, that how you view God and your relationship with Him, will help determine the remainder of your worldview. Knowing what you believe, and why, will affect your study of science, history, literature, and more. If we expect our children to have a proper foundation in all other areas of learning, it must first begin with theology. (For arguments regarding forcing religion on your children, please read THIS article.)

While we strive to keep those “gaps” in learning as little as possible, they are bound to happen. Instead of being caught up in spending every minute of every day learning all there is to possibly know, let us instead focus our energies on those things which are foundational to both their worldviews and their potential futures.

When a proper foundation for learning is established, there is a peace about the walls that are built upon it.

“…and that from childhood you have known the sacred writings which are able to give you the wisdom that leads to salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.”
2 Timothy 3:15-17

📢 Chime In!: Is there an area that you feel should not have “gaps”?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

12 thoughts on “Gap Theory

  1. Not really…maybe enough math to understand finances and such. When my kids are really interested in something they seek the knowledge they need on their own. The same is true for me as an adult. I didn’t take agricultural classes in high school but that didn’t stop me from planting a garden and researching methods on my own. With today’s technology I think knowing how to find and use information is important.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. This is a great post! I feel the same way. It seems like, in our homeschool, there will always be gaps in math. That’s ok! What’s most important to me is my children’s love for the Lord Jesus Christ. All else is vanity…NOTHING!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I agree with you. Even on the use of social medias. Eventually, they will fully learn to use them on their own. Their act of responsibility, discipline, and respect towards them should be carefully emphasized at their early age. Basic trainings all start from home, and once we brief them and made them aware of the good & the bad it involves, i guess when they’re old enough, it won’t be too difficult for them to figure things out for themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Unrehearsed, I’d say this to people who throw out the line that we’re forcing religion onto our kids:

    The Gospel isn’t an ism; principle or proposition. It is the person, Jesus Christ, who is very God and very man. It is this someone who in the light of the Covenant, Cross and resurrection, stands as the great something in critique of all isms, human thrones and everything humans do to protect those thrones. Prince over all princes; King over all kings.

    Teaching children theology, for Christians, is about sharing with them, Good News, quite often alongside the bad we read about in the papers. It’s a response that begins with the proclamation of the Gospel. Why wouldn’t I share with them good news if I had some to share? Why wouldn’t I share with them my excitement over what God has done in my own life and with it, so far, against direct conflict, betrayals et.al?

    Faith seeks understanding. Grounded in Covenant and Christ, this forms the essence of our approach to homeschooling and it’s from there that we hope our kids will engage with critical thought, shaping their own approach to learning, serving and being.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I’m familiar with the knowledge gap hypothesis… I believe that is what you are discussing?

    Sherlock Holmes had his “attic space” theory of knowledge, so gaps are certainly not a new idea. 🙂

    The gap I don’t want to leave unfilled is the desire for my children to always love, and want, to learn – that will help fill any gaps I leave. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It’s important to discuss the idea of “worldview.” I think some people are unaware that they even have a worldview and how much it affects everything they do. Give your child the proper, loving, Godly worldview along with the love of learning and skills to find quality information; then they will be set on a great path in life!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for your post. I too worry about gaps in my children’s education, especially in their knowledge of the Word. But upon thinking about it further I came to one conclusion I want my children to know. If they should realize their knowledge is lacking in any area they just have to remember that in this day and age nothing is inaccessible. There really is nothing to fear. If they need to know it later and they didn’t know it yet then they can learn it later. And with God nothing is impossible!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Ooops, Guess I Forgot to Teach That | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

