Praying Dangerously

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?’ Then I said, ‘Here am I. Send me!'”
Isaiah 6:8

Praying_DangerouslyHead bowed, words pour forth from my lips. I know what the Lord is asking. My heart is willing, but fear gnaws at the edge of my resolve. I ask for peace; pause for a moment; and pray dangerously.

What does praying dangerously mean? It means we are asking God to use us – every part of us – for His glory. There is nothing we are holding back. We are asking that God take us, mold us, and put us to work for His kingdom. There is no place we are not willing to go, nothing we will not endure, and no person we are unwilling to reach. We are offering all.

How easy it seems to bow our heads and ask the Lord to use us. In theory. But, when God sends us to the furthest reaches our imagination, into dangerous territory, are we still willing to go? When our skeletons need to be brought forth into the light, healing old wounds and speaking of God’s goodness, do we hide?

Sometimes the hardest of all is when God asks us to stay put. But, wait! I thought the Lord wanted to use me? Aren’t I supposed to be in a foreign land preaching amongst the lost and broken? Shouldn’t I be touring the nation, leading thousands to repentance? When we prayed for God to send us, we never envisioned the journey being so close to home.

Perhaps we are willing to pray dangerously for ourselves. But are we willing to pray this for our family; for our children? The thought of my child in danger terrifies me. Persecution is not what any parent embraces willingly. And, yet, I hear the voice of the Lord asking me to surrender. They are His children; He wants to do great things with them.

Would that I make this prayer without fear of the future. Yet I am human. Then, the Lord reminds me I am never alone in this journey He is asking me to undertake. There is nowhere He will send that He will abandon me. There is nothing He sets before me which I cannot do through His strength.

Yes; I ask the Lord to send me and use me. Yet I take heart in knowing there is nothing I am offering which God has not already given. There is no part of myself which is truly mine; all of me already belongs to Him. I am merely surrendering to the knowledge of this truth. I am His to be used as He sees fit; for His glory and His good pleasure. As are my children.

By example, I pray openly before my children for God to use me no matter the cost. My heart open before the Lord, I acknowledge my fear and put my trust in the Good Shepherd. No; praying dangerously is not easy, but absolutely necessary.

“‘Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.'”
Matthew 11:29-30

📢 Chime In!: How are you teaching and encouraging your children to pray dangerously?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

4 thoughts on “Praying Dangerously

  1. Praying dangerously is so powerful! God moves in amazing ways. I teach my children to be bold in prayer and to not be afraid. They were inspired by the movie “War Room” and now have war rooms of their own. Praise God.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

