A Homeschool Mom & Curriculum Displays

AHM_&_Curriculum_DisplaysThis past week, I was able to scratch another item off of my “to do” list. Having already outlined which books needed to be purchased for next year’s round of education, it was time to finally get to some buying.

The kids and I trekked to our local aBeka materials display center and made a small investment into their future. Knowing this experience can be a little trying for their patience, we did our best to make this event go as smoothly as possible.

Before attending the display, I try to make sure I have all my items listed (with item number, including price) and printed. This not only helps me fill out my order form very quickly, it also saves me from making unnecessary impulse purchases. I know exactly what I need and how much I plan to spend. If there are items I am unsure about, those go at the bottom of my list and I peruse them online or at the event quickly.

At the materials display, I find the few items which I am unsure of and make my final decisions. Knowing all my other items are organized, I am able to complete my order form and be out the door in about twenty minutes.

Why attend a materials display? Easy… I save money. I could place my order online, but by attending a display I save 5% on my order and pay no shipping. It might not be much, but every bit helps.

Attending a display also allows me to actually look through any items which I still don’t have peace about. For example, this year there were two items which needed a closer look. One I actually purchased; the other I decided to skip. It wasn’t that the material was poor, it just wasn’t a necessity.

In addition to attending the aBeka display, I also made a few purchases online. I don’t buy the “boxed” deal from aBeka; I am very eclectic in my children’s education. A few items were still needed. Thankfully, I found those items either on Amazon and/or Rainbow Resource for very little cost.

As I mentioned, it is nice to have that little item off my list. School ends in a few short weeks, so my shelves will be cleaned off and ready for the next set of materials to arrive. Now, let’s see how long it takes for them to get here….

📢 Chime In!: Do you order your homeschool curriculum through materials displays?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

12 thoughts on “A Homeschool Mom & Curriculum Displays

  1. Thanks to the link for Rainbow Resource! With the lower prices and free shipping the site showed, I could save about $30 off the science books we are seeking for next year! Amazon and every other place I had checked were all the same price or higher than buying directly from the company.

    We have a local homeschool convention coming up that I wanted to attend, but the entrance fee was so high I decided not to go. I’m assuming the discount the vendor would give me off one set of books would not equal the entrance fee. I’m hoping to have the good fortune to find a set at a used curriculum sale this summer. (Do you happen to have a BJU Physical Science, 5th Edition, set you don’t need next year? 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did when my oldest kids were young, but I use different curriculum for each course, so it isn’t practical. I also find the learning styles different with my children, so I also work hard to meet individual needs. So I scour all the catalogues and online searches. It’s my favorite part of the year…planning for the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I use various curriculum and styles myself. However, the few companies where we purchase multiple items for several children make this worth the effort.

      Thankfully, we live in an area frequented by displays, fairs, and conventions. And, as you mentioned, the planning is awesome fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like eclectic. Living near a regional center means we have access to art supply stores, but nothing like the conventions, fairs and expos held in the cities.So, we’re pulling together what we can, when we can, with what we have. (budget pending, we’ll add some online purchases from the U.S.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

