Coincidence? I Think Not!

CoincidenceHere I sit, our astronomy textbook in hand, organizing the year to come, and God meets me where I am, reminding me He is in control. For the –nth year in a row (because I don’t know how many years He has been doing this now), God has completely taken our homeschooling year and fit it according to His purposes.

Every term I bow my head in prayer, asking the Lord’s will in our homeschooling year. I don’t want to drudge through curriculum He has not given, nor forcefully push through lessons for my own sake. I want the Lord to be the center of all we do, and that starts with planning our year to come.

God never ceases to amaze me. No matter how I proceed with our planning, the Lord always orchestrates so everything comes together.

For the past several years, I have sat down and created lesson plans for science. I lay out which lessons will be covered each week, and bookmark coordinating activities. Once this is complete and finished (this is key!), I then sit down to tackle history. No sooner do I begin laying out our history lessons, in the same fashion, when I begin to see a parallel with our science. Lessons align, topics come together; blending perfectly and harmonizing with one another.

While this might seem probable for those using a boxed curriculum or purchasing all materials from the same company, what makes our situation unique is that we’re eclectic homeschoolers. Very few of our textbooks come from the same company. Yet, year after year, the Lord continues to show His hand in our planning.

I have even gone so far as to re-organize our textbooks, switching chapters; yet God still aligns. I have used curriculum from different grade levels. God perfectly fits them together. Field trips have been known to come together, which I could not have foreseen. Books will be given to us by people who have no idea what we’re studying. Literature I did not plan at the beginning of our year corresponds to our lessons. Language arts, and even spelling, have been known to supply details – not mere general subject headings – uniting our learning.

Let me be clear, these are all things I do not plan into our year. Yet, year after year, God does this. This is not a coincidence. This is not a one-time happening. God is constantly showing Himself to us, even in these little details. And it blows my mind.

I love how God chooses to show Himself to us in the tiny details. I do not plan for our history and science to harmonize, but God does! I could not have foreseen a spelling lesson to perfectly align with our reading selection, but God knew. Things I do not think of, details I do not plan… Yet God is in control.

When it comes to our homeschooling, nothing is a coincidence. When we allow God to take charge of our children’s learning, everything comes together perfectly. And the best part is that we don’t even need to try. He does it all in His own power, and often without our help. Coincidence? I think not. This is ALL God!

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”
~ Proverbs 19:21

📢 Chime In!: Share how God has brought plans together, showing evidence of His hand in your learning!

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

10 thoughts on “Coincidence? I Think Not!

  1. I have used Sonlight for several years but can attest to God’s presence in coordinating the details of our lives in so many ways. From moves to finances to prayers answered in very specific ways. You have inspired me to turn to him in prayer more specifically regarding homeschooling. Thank you and God Bless.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. God does amazing things, doesn’t He? I love this reminder that if we are praying and seeking His plans, He shows up! Thank you for sharing. We are also eclectic, and I’ve experienced this same thing! Love how He works!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. One year which was really stressful, when my oldest was eight, God told me to drop science. I felt I was hearing incorrectly and resisted. I kept thinking about how the children would graduate with a deficiency because I would have failed them. I finally submitted, and it did take a burden off of us. When summer came, for the first time, I was not completely exhausted. Then, the children started choosing science books all summer for me to read to them. I learned to truly trust God with my school year through that.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The same thing happens for us quite often, and I also am amazed by it. This year, bible lessons AND several sermons at church corresponded with her history, homeschool bible class, movies we happened upon, and even a little of her grammar and math! (Saxon throws some strange things into their word problems! Lol)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

