Is Christian Curriculum a Must?

Christian_Curriculum_a_MustAs we wind down one year and gear up for another, curriculum choices loom before us. Is what we’re currently using working for our family, or we do need to make a few adjustments? Should we continue with book work or make learning more hands-on? One thing is certain, we want to ensure our choices reflect our family’s worldview and encourage our children to draw near to their Creator. But, in order to do this, is Christian curriculum a must?

While we would undoubtedly recommend steering clear of companies which hinder our faith, perhaps even degrading our Lord, just how much of our curriculum needs to be specifically labeled “Christian”? Arithmetic is arithmetic is it not? How does buying from a Christian company change the adding of one plus one? Or perhaps you might view it from another perspective. You could purchase curriculum from a non-Christian company which is not anti-Christian, but you enjoy supporting conservative businesses. 

The bulk of our materials tend to come from Christian companies. Even though the study of arithmetic might not specifically deal with issues of faith, I appreciate the verses which accompany each lesson and faith-based word problems. However, I will admit, that from time-to-time we have used non-Christian materials. Some resources are too good to pass up, even if they need a little tweak to make them work.

We’d love to hear your perspective on this issue, and learn how Christian curriculum plays into the planning of your family’s learning adventure.

  • Do you use only Christian curriculum, and why?
  • Have you found yourself using non-Christian curriculum, and why?
  • Are there specific subjects which you feel are acceptable to be taught from non-Christian textbooks?
  • Are there non-Christian companies you use and recommend?
  • If using non-Christian teaching material, do you find yourself constantly battling the rewording of text to make it fit your worldview or align with your family’s values?
  • Are electives exempt from your Christian curriculum choices, or would picking a Christian art program, per say, be important to you?

Choosing curriculum is always a fun adventure, and no matter which materials our family chooses, we want to ensure Christ is the center of all we do. May He guide each of our families into making the wisest decisions for all our little learners, and help us to train up our children in the way they should go.

Train up a child in the way he should go,
And when he is old he will not depart from it.”
~ Proverbs 22:6

📢 Chime In!: Share your thoughts with us on this interesting topic. We’d love to hear how the Lord is leading in your home.

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

19 thoughts on “Is Christian Curriculum a Must?

  1. This was my first year homeschooling, and I did use Christian materials. However, for next year I chose the cheaper used textbooks from schools on some subjects, so I could afford the bible study curriculum I had my heart set on! Like you said, math is math. American history, and science also will be from a text book. I found plenty freebies online to help fill in the blanks. Great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Are you concerned about needing to weed through secular world views to be found in the history and science textbooks, or do you feel comfortable enough to filter them yourself?

      Thank you for sharing your perspective. We’d enjoy hearing more about the Bible program you’re interested in. And freebies are always a treat!

      Like

      • I am pretty confident in knowing what the Bible teaches, so I use other views as teaching opportunities. I chose God’s Covenant for our Bible program. It is very highly reviewed and I have used Bible for Children in teaching childrens Church for years. It is by the same lady, pretty much. I’ll find the link for that and post it. It is a great way to just walk through the stories. I would put it on the big screen, so they could see pictures and read along. I love teaching the stories when they are young, then progressing to more of what the stories mean as they grow older.

        http://bibleforchildren.org/languages/english/stories.php#collapseOne

        Liked by 1 person

  2. We are Catholics, but majority of our materials are from Christian publishers. To be honest, I like how the Language Arts, World History, and Science curriculum we are using are integrated with values which would help my kid develop his character.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When my kids were little, I was all about Christian curriculum. I wanted them to learn the worldview that I thought was important. Not for things like Math, but everything else. We’ve always done Math U See because it engages any type of learner with their hands-on, visual, and auditory helps. With one child, we were dealing with special needs so we used the program with all three kids. They don’t use Christian themes in the math books though, but I felt better giving my money to someone who believes in Christ than someone who doesn’t. As they have gotten older, we’ve 1) steered away from curriculum overall and 2) use secular resources. We still use Apologia science mostly because I don’t like the alternatives. But we also incorporate secular materials to show the kids the other side of things so we can discuss them. Now days, I’m more interested in them developing their own ideas and thoughts instead of forcing them to believe what I do. I want them to think about it and then come back and tell me what they think. I am open for discussion. I’m glad I gave them a good foundation and used many books that focused on character, but I think its wise to expose your kids to secular books as well so they know what the rest of the world thinks.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for sharing with us!

      When exposing your children to other world views, do you then explain why they do not line up with the Word of God? We would enjoy hearing more about how you further your children’s Biblical training in this area.:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi there. I think I would love to be better about this topic–in terms of planting seeds. I think as my kids are getting older, I have to be more diligent about planting seeds in their hearts instead of forcing them to believe as I do. I do teach them the Bible. So we memorize scripture. We talk about passages we learn. We discuss how they apply to our lives. Right now we are going over the entire Bible with http://www.thebibleproject.com. That has been helping my children see the overview and the themes in scripture. I love it. I have learned so much myself from their videos. But in subject areas where we aren’t using Christian curriculum, I might ask questions to draw out a response. We were learning about Abraham Lincoln several weeks ago and we talked in length about how sometimes people are sinful and their hearts become evil. That’s why President Lincoln was shot. It was a good conversation about the Sovereignty of God. But, sometimes that topic is hard for me even to understand and make sense of. I try to make it about me, more than them. So I’ll say, “I know in my life, there were times I didn’t understand what God was doing, but I might not see everything He does. Someday I trust that when I get to heaven, I will understand it fully”. I have a trust level with my children, so I can share with them how I view the world. But that doesn’t mean I squash their thought process. I just try to draw out their hearts with questions. But, I admit, this post has got me thinking that I need to be more involved in this area. I’ve gotten a little lazy!

        Liked by 2 people

  4. We, personally, do not go out of our way to buy/use resources specifically marketed to Christian homeschoolers. There are a number of reasons for this… I think, for our family, the underlying values of our faith are what we want integrated into our homeschool– care and concern for neighbor, responsibility for the environment, and the fact that our social interconnectedness requires that we approach everything with critical thought–even and especially ideas labeled as Christian. I rarely agree theologically with a lot of what I see taught in Christian curriculum. I dislike that I see complex social issues presented in overly simplistic ways. There is a tendency for a revisionist perspective of American History in a lot of the A Beka texts I was taught with when I was a homeschool student , and as I grow older, I find myself having to relearn a lot of what I was taught. I don’t want to make that same mistake with my own kids.
    I also do not want to indoctrinate my kiddos. Instead, I want them to know they are to “work out their own salvation with fear and trembling”. I want them to realize the limits of human ideas, and the sheer diversity of perspectives within and without our faith. I want them to learn to co-exist with uncertainty in an uncertain World. If that makes sense?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I particularly like to get science classes from christian sources because otherwise I’d have to take so much extra time to clarify things. In other subjects (yes, even in math word problems!) I often like to read things with my daughter that contradict the bible and see if she catches it on her own. If she doesn’t mention the error, I’ll say something like “Did you notice anything in what we just read?” or “What do you think the authors of this book believe about that subject?” I think it helps her be more discerning about information — to be aware of the intent and worldview of the writers.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks. “Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6 These are the years I am training her for her future battles against our enemy Satan. I’m trying to take that responsibility very seriously while I have the chance. She will fly from our nest all too soon because time always passes so quickly for me!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great topic. History is the one subject that I use Christian Curriculum for. Both my oldest sons felt that they didn’t need Christian curriculum for science. They feel that they are strong in our faith and they are able to separate secular world view. However we have and do use Apologia because it is a great science program.
    Winters Promise is a wonderful provider with hands on activities. I just love them. Also Robin Samsons Heart of Wisdom program is a unit study approach. Love her stuff too. Mystery of History I have heard good things about. We use Streams of Civilization as a spine/reference for History which is recommended by Trivium Pursuit (classical).

    We had bought a Bible study curriculum but have found just reading from the bible is the best for us.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. My aim: Keep in step with the Holy Spirit. Jesus Christ is the foundation of our education, therefore if it supports the adage: “faith seeks understanding” it’s usable. If I can purchase material like this, I’ll use it. That material doesn’t have to be Christian. If there’s truth in it, Christ will be there somewhere. Sometimes it’s just a matter of digging in order to find the gold. Which is a great lesson in discernment and critical thinking, in an of itself for our kids (…a little like the effort they put into Minecraft) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

