Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

Ethel's_Sugar_CookiesA girlfriend of mine brought over a batch of beautiful sugar cookies. Intrigued by their wonderful flavor and creative design, I asked her to divulge the secret to their loveliness. “Vintage Hallmark cookie cutters,” she informed me.

Fast forward… My wonderful hubby graciously let me spend some of his hard-earned cash to invest in several batches of 1970’s vintage cookie cutters. Now my little ones and I spend hours in the kitchen making cookies each season with these clever little cutters. We’ve amassed quite the collection. From holidays to shepherdess. Trains to Star Wars.

My girlfriend was also gracious enough to share her recipe. Should you be interested in trying them out yourself, here you go:

Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

1 1/2 sticks of butter
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking powder
2 1/2 c. flour

Mix all ingredients and chill in the fridge for 60 minutes. Roll out and use cookie cutters. Preheat oven to 400º. Place on an un-greased baking sheet. Bake for 6-8 minutes. Decorate by brushing egg yolk over the top of the cookie. Then, use sprinkles to “illustrate” eyes.

You’ll note: When using this recipe along with the vintage Hallmark cutters, you will not apply frosting to your cookies. This is a bonus for us, as our children do not care for frosting. The art of the cookie itself is shown.

“O taste and see that the Lord is good;…”
~Psalm 34:8

📢 Chime In!: Do you bake sugar cookies outside of Christmas season?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

5 thoughts on “Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

    • I thought my children would – enjoy sprinkles and frosting – but they don’t. Gone are the visions of cake baking with layers of frosting and filling. Now, we try to find creative ways to bake without the extras.

      As a mom I ought to be grateful. As a fan of sugar, I’m appalled. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I bake lavender sugar cookies every time I want something from my IT guy. He will do anything for ’em. (My youngest son… 🙂 )
    However, I do not roll and cut, but rather flatten spoonfuls of a similar rich dough, with a glass dipped in sugar. Sometimes I then add sprinkles.
    The flavor is added with powdered, home-grown lavender flower buds.
    “The IT guy” cannot resist!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

