Planning to Avoid Failure

Fail-to-planI am huge on planning. Without a “vision” for my day, or my year for that matter, I can quickly lose balance of what needs to be accomplished and get overwhelmed by the surmounting tasks of the day-to-day.

In order to help me make sense of life and to prioritize the multitude of tasks that fill my routine, I decided to write down a “master plan”. A guideline to help me better manage both my household and my homeschooling.

Let me be the first to remind you, this is not a hard-line which cannot be crossed. Rather, consider these as they were intended, guidelines. They are a starting point which can be changed and manipulated at any given point.

What works for me, might not work for you. Please feel free to read with discretion, pray about what you are hearing, and then decide for yourself where the Lord is leading.

Part I:   Prioritizing Life
Part II:  Managing the Budget
Part III: Adding Events
Part IV: Planning the Homeschool Year
Part V:  Putting it all Together

May these ideas help you as much as they help me!
Cristina

📢 Chime In!: Are you a planner or a procrastinator?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter&  Pinterest!

5 thoughts on “Planning to Avoid Failure

  1. I like to use homeschool tracker for my high school planning, transcripts, chores, books read, goals, ect. I paid for a 2 year subscription. I also use it for my 10 year old for lesson plans.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Planning is great. I loved Covey’s suggestions on planning. Mine are grown, but I’d like to share. I really feel like I should have considered more specifically what my grown children would be like, based on our daily activities. I talked about issues of character, but didn’t always give them a chance to use their character. I talked about the seven sins, and fruits of the spirit, but didn’t always give them leeway to experience them for themselves. Obviously, they’ve chosen their own lives, but I see how much regular exercise (team sports) might have benefited them or Scouting. Planning for them to spend a significant amount of time with adult mentors during their teen years would have been good, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Without one, I am the other. I tend toward procrastination, or as I call myself “a deadline gal”. I do much better when I have deadlines in front of me. I also love to check off a list (which can also become a problem as well). So if I can plan and get myself to follow through, it works well. Otherwise, I am down to the wire which works ok with me, but not so much when it has to do with the kids. This is a battle I face every day. I am good at organizing and planning…not so good at follow through.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

