Homeschoolers and the Question of PJ’s

“One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got into my pajamas I’ll never know.”
~ Groucho Marx

Homeschoolers_PajamasEver since I was little, my mom instilled in me the discipline of taking care of myself. When you got up in the morning, you made your bed, showered, got dressed, brushed your teeth, and looked presentable. Even as an adult, this concept remains.

As a parent, I find myself passing this on to my own children. At the start of our day, they are given a certain amount of time to become presentable and ready to tackle what lies before them. Why do we do this? Outside of habit, I find this to be a good life skill. By teaching my children to get a good start to their day, we are preventing procrastination and laziness.

I appreciate that my mom took the time to instill this in us kids, and I plan to continue this with our own family. Sometimes, however, I wonder if I’m the only homeschool parent crazy enough to forbid my children to live in pajamas.

What about your family? Do you…

  • Allow your kiddos to wear pajamas during their learning day?
  • How often do they wear pajamas while schooling?
  • Do you ever have ‘pajama days’, making this a special occasion?
  • If your kids have ‘pajama days’, do you participate as well?
  • If you do allow pajamas during your learning day, at what point do you insist on outside clothing?
  • Have you ever had a problem stemming/arising from the practice of wearing pajamas during school time?

We’re fascinated to hear your take on this fun topic. No matter how you’ve chosen to address this issue, we’re encouraged to hear how the Lord is leading in your home.

Do we ever lounge in pj’s? Occasionally. On the weekends, mom will let the kiddos sleep in a bit and get dressed when they are ready. On my part, I don’t want this to become a habit. Every once in a while it is fun to have a pajama day or to be a little lazy, but those days are special, not the norm.

📢 Chime In!: What is the cutest pair of pajamas your kids have ever worn?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter&  Pinterest!

16 thoughts on “Homeschoolers and the Question of PJ’s

  1. I have three boys and one girl. The messes they get into has me changing their clothes not once, but often several times a day! So, the battle to keep them all looking presentable at all times was forfeited many many years ago;)
    I worry that putting too much emphasis on how they look is buying into the cultural lie that appearances are everything. God sees things differently, and I think as parents our job is to find the middle ground here. We come into this world naked. As nature intended. How we dress that naked body matters to other human beings, but cleanliness is NOT next to godliness.
    Take the story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10. Jesus praises “lazy” Mary, and surprises her type-A sister Martha by not insisting that Mary too should busy herself keeping things “presentable”.
    I don’t think there is a right or wrong way of running our households in this manner. The issue is one of the heart– what matters more to us? Because what we may, subconsciously, value imprints itself onto the tender hearts of our children.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes indeed– the right way Is a very narrow path between extremes. And I think when it comes to “teaching” these things, it depends a lot upon the child themselves. No one had to teach me to be disciplined… I was born an over-achieving, perfectionist. Too much emphasis upon what are already strengths fails to teach our children the importance of finding that balance in their own lives. I’ve spent a decade learning how to relax, unwind and to be still without my own anxiety driving me back into perpetual motion. Which is likely why God gave me three boys… I had to let go of what I wanted, and let God show me what He wanted from me. Parenting is a spiritual discipline in its own right;)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not concerned with what the kids are wearing when we’re just sitting around the house. With having boys there’s many days they’re barely dressed. However, between doctor appointments, church, going to the store, other errands, and people coming over, they have plenty of opportunities to learn how to appropriately dress in public.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I believe the reason we put an emphasis on being presentable all the time is so our children understand they are to show as much consideration for the people in their home as they would anyone else. We don’t “dress to impress”; not for guests or when we go out. We simply dress for the day, ready for whatever God brings our way.

      While I would equally expect my son to take care of himself as I would our daughters, I believe I am more inclined to focus on my girls. To be honest, I believe this stems from my mother’s observations that so many women seem to “let themselves go” after being married. She admonished me to never do this and to look well for my husband. Not that men can’t “let themselves go” – of course – but from a mother’s perspective this was her advice to me.

      It’s a balance. We try not to put too much emphasis on how we look, but rather focus on teaching our children to simply take care of the bodies God has given them.

      Like

  3. No pjs for us, except on occasional “lazy days.” We are not morning people and need all the help we can get to completely wake up in the mornings.

    This school year, I won’t have to worry about that much because my daughter is taking an 8 a.m. choir class at the local public school. No more moans of “Just 15 more minutes!” “I don’t want to get up yet — I’m TIRED!” or “Do I HAVE to get dressed?!” Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mornings can be rough. It depends on the day. For a portion of my upbringing I was raised with one parent in the military. So, a routine and a clear structure that explains what’s expected of the kids in the mornings, are attributes I still find myself leaning on. Albeit, way more flexible and Jesus led. Can’t say, I’m down with schooling in P.Js, though. I think there’s relaxed, there’s too relaxed. Last day of term or some weekends? no worries.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to not bother with the whole getting dressed thing with the kiddos. A pajama shirt until noon was fine. Then I found if we needed to run to the store real quick or take books to the library etc. it was a pain to get around then and get everyone ready. So, now we have a “morning list” after breakfast. All that is required is brushing teeth, brushing hair, make bed, and put on what we call “day clothes”. Nothing fancy, just not pajamas. That way, when the suddenlies of life come up, it is easier to just jump in the car and go. On the weekends, we don’t worry about it, they can choose to get around and ready or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We gotta wear our “real clothes”! Sometimes PJ’s probably slide into the routine. It’s probably sometime mid-year, still recovering from a cold, PJ’s make their way to class. I do let my daughter go barefoot. She was born to be barefoot. I, however, completely loose the motivation to instruct, clean, organize or fold if I don’t have lace-up shoes on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest, we never thought about shoes. This is an interesting point to explore.

      In our home, we always go without shoes. Usually we just have socks on, if that. It saves our flooring from damage, and my husband prefers it this way.

      Thank you for sharing your perspective!

      Like

  7. My children are still so little so it all depends on the day! If my 3 y.o. wants to wear her princess nightgown, I have to decide whether it’s a battle worth fighting.

    However, I find myself more productive, happier, and successful when I take the time to get dressed, fix myself up, and make my bed so I do want to instill that in my children.

    We plan to homeschool when my littles are no longer so little, and when that happens, we’ll change out of our jammies. At least, that’s what I think right now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

