May I Quote You? – Incorporating Quotations in Our Homeschool Day

“I love quotations because it is a joy to find thoughts one might have, beautifully expressed with much authority by someone recognized wiser than oneself.”
~ Marlene Dietrich

may_quote_youThroughout our homeschool year, we make a point of searching out and memorizing quotes. Often our citations correspond to our science and history lessons. Occasionally, there are passages of classic literature. More than most, we focus on Scripture.

Why do we place an emphasis on quotations? Studying important passages, speeches, and writings gives our children a better understanding of the world and events surrounding our chosen citation. We learn to research primary sources. We develop a deeper appreciation for a well-chosen word. As is the case with classic literature, our children gain insight into where our language and idioms derive.

How are we incorporating this into our routine? While creating outlines for the year, bookmarks regarding speeches, quotations, and corresponding Scripture are notated.  During both our morning basket time and history/science units, several minutes are spent in the study of our chosen passage. We read the selection, discussing both the passage itself and (if possible) the primary source. We evaluate the circumstances surrounding our excerpt. Our children are free to share their thoughts and opinions, constantly being led back to Scripture to hear what God’s Word has to say on the topic.

Think the children will lose interest in a study of quotations? You might be pleasantly surprised! Consider ‘dressing the part’; putting on costumes to recreate the scene from which the passage was taken. (I distinctly remember having to stand atop a table to give a rousing rendition of The Preamble to the Constitution. I’ll never forget it.) Look for exciting ways to engage the children and I guarantee they will not only enjoy these brief lessons, but look forward to them.

It ought to go without saying, the study of Scripture is to be our highest aim. If our children can quote Keats and Shakespeare yet lack a thorough knowledge of the Bible, I have failed. The study, memorization, and recitation of God’s Word is an active part of our children’s education. It is the ruler by which all other knowledge is to be measured.

“This book of the law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it; for then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have success.”
~ Joshua 1:8

📢 Chime In!: Do you have a preferred method of memorization? Please share your tips!

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

4 thoughts on “May I Quote You? – Incorporating Quotations in Our Homeschool Day

  1. I may have told you this before, but the easiest way we find to memorize scripture is to make up a tune and sing it.  My musically-inclined daughter can remember a verse after singing it just two or three times.

    Feeling compelled to share, I even stepped out of my comfort zone and created a page for our songs. My hubby and daughter are helping me.  We haven’t gotten very many songs on there yet, but it’s an ongoing project.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I realize I do not know you, but I enjoyed this and I was also homeschooled by a mother who was probably not unlike yourself. Recently I’ve ventured out into the world and started to really become my own person and one particular writer I found extremely inspirational and I wanted to share his works with you in the event you’d not heard of him. His name was Ralph Waldo Emerson and below is a link to some of his works, in particular one I adore titled, “Self-Reliance.”

    I don’t know your children, their ages, etc. and I won’t pretend to. All I know is that as an adult having recently come through a difficult adolescence this essay helped me more than words on paper should have been able to. I hope you’ll maybe give it a read and sincerely thank you for your time. 🙂

    http://www.emersoncentral.com/essays1.htm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

