Entropy, I Really Dislike That Word

en·tro·py

ˈentrəpē
noun
… 2. lack of order or predictability; gradual decline into disorder.

entropyIt never occurred to me I should post pictures of our house while it is in a state of chaos. If I stopped to think about it, I suppose this is because I thought seeing organization would be a source of inspiration.

A friend recently commented, however, we sometimes need to see the mess in order to appreciate the neat. We need to know people are human, just like the rest of us, with the same dirty dishes and masses of laundry.

This is what plagues me daily….

I am constantly between a state of organization and chaos. I flip-flop from one to the other so quickly sometimes it is a wonder we even bother. We are continually going from “there and back again”. The bookshelf in our girls’ room tends to get used for just about everything. The kitchen table is constantly covered with projects. The sink is perpetually filled. Floors get sticky, counters are wet, and let’s not look at cupboards, please.

Did I mention entropy is not my friend? Just when things are neat and clean, they get messed up all over again. My husband is constantly reminding me it is just a matter of entropy. Rrrrrr…. No matter how hard I try, no matter how long we work, entropy is bound to take over. The most I can hope for is lulls amidst the madness.

I try to remind myself that when my kids are older, they will remember the memories made in these rooms. Yes, part of our homeschooling is that they learn to clean their house and wash the laundry; but, if they know how to clean and not how to love, I have failed.

I would like to think these rooms have shared a lot of love and just as many memories… Now, if they could just stay clean!

If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy, and know all mysteries and all knowledge; and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.  And if I give all my possessions to feed the poor, and if I surrender my body to be burned, but do not have love, it profits me nothing.”
~ I Corinthians 13:1-3 (emphasis mine)

📢 Chime In!: Are you constantly in a state of entropy, or am I on my own here?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

7 thoughts on “Entropy, I Really Dislike That Word

  1. As a mom it does feel hopeless on a daily basis. I had great memories, but goodness my mom made sure there was order as well. I hope when they are older I’ll be able to wrangle the to help wight the order like mom wrangled us, I am one exhausted mama.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I was pregnant, I found a great quote in a parenting magazine. I cut it out, and it hung on my refrigerator for probably 10 years before I passed it on to someone else. It went something like this: “Slow down and enjoy every moment with your baby. You’ll never look back and say ‘I wish I’d cleaned the house better!’

    That quote helped me a lot, as I was quite a neat-freak back then. Several older ladies had told me basically the same message about cleaning house, so I really tried to take it to heart and soak in every moment I could with my sweet daughter. Some days when she was an infant, I would straighten up the living room and just not go into the messy rooms unless I had to. Lol I wanted memories with her to take priority over having a showroom home.

    Now my girl’s a teen, and I definitely don’t regret the choice. The years fly by all too fast and children change so quickly. Keep the house fairly tidy — spotless is not necessary — and soak in the sweet memories while you can!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

