Is Happiness a Factor For Choosing Homeschooling?

factor_for_homeschoolingI suppose there are many reasons to homeschool, some more pressing than others. One of the most recent arguments I have heard is that homeschooling brings happiness. Of all the reasons we have chosen to homeschool, happiness is not among them. Why, do we not want to be happy? Of course we do! But what happens when the momentary happiness is gone?

As much as we would all like to project the image of well-rounded kiddos, perfect houses, brilliant minds, and endless talents, the truth of the matter is there are days when life is just plain hard! Kids don’t always get along, the house can’t seem to stay clean, and life just keeps interfering with our well-laid plans.

If we homeschool because ‘it brings us happiness’, we run the risk of burn out during those moments which are less than cheerful.

Don’t get me wrong, I often experience moments of happiness while learning with my children. Our family is, generally speaking, a happy one. That does not mean this is our reason for homeschooling.

We homeschool to have better relationships within our family, to disciple our children, to further their education, and to encourage a love of learning. Most importantly, we homeschool because this is what God called us to do.

Joy is a byproduct of a well-lived life serving the Lord. I would pray each of us be filled with joy. However, I would caution anyone from pursuing homeschooling because they assume happiness and joy will naturally flow due to this choice of lifestyle. Joy stems not from circumstances, which might change, but is a gift which we openly acknowledge comes from God. When they are following His leading, joy simply emanates. More importantly, we are walking righteously.

“You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.”
~Psalm 16:11

📢 Chime In!: Was happiness a motive when you were deciding whether or not to homeschool?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

25 thoughts on “Is Happiness a Factor For Choosing Homeschooling?

  1. Thank you for sharing. I think it is so easy to focus on temporal happiness and to become discouraged when that does not occur. I am not officially homeschooling as my oldest is three and my youngest is one, but we plan to someday. My husband was homeschooled. We don’t plan to homeschool because of temporal happiness, but for what we can teach them and more time together as a family. I hope they’ll be happy, but I am sure not each day will feel happy. Neither would being in a classroom setting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am a firm believer that homeschooling can start at birth, and should. Teaching our children stretches beyond bookwork, and reaches into character development, family involvement, and more. Sounds to me like you might already be on track!

      Great insights, thank you for sharing!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. The happiness came in knowing that my children would not be effected by the public/private school systems in place today….. but it was not a deciding factor as far as creating happiness by doing it. I love how you touch base with the reality that it’s not always a field of flowers and sunshine! It’s tough stuff to homeschool, but definitely rewarding! XO

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That reason never crossed my mind! We are a happy family that also gets stressed out and has bad days. I think happiness comes with the territory, but I think that if a person thinks that they are going to be happy and smiling every day, then I don’t think that person will know how to handle things when lessons don’t go as planned.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. being on the “other side” of homeschooling 🙂 I would say I am really happy that I did. With Christ all things are possible and there were many times it was not my talent but God’s grace that got us through. My husband and I decided to home school because the area we live had some schooling issues and my sister was a good role model (homeschooling her children) For us it was a hard choice- living on one income, me being with the children ALL the time & schooling them was super challenging. Still, I can say now, it was worth the effort. My husband said the biggest myth surrounding Home Schooling is the word home. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. NO… I did not decide to homeschool out of happiness. I would say it brings me “joy” knowing I’m doing the best for my kids, but it’s honestly quite challenging maintaining my/our decision to keep the kids at home when I’m worn out/tired/discouraged many days.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t consider myself religious but I still love your blog for your logical, honest, and very realistic approach to your topics. Happiness is very much an investment. You can’t just simply decide to be happy, sit there, and expect it to magically happen. You have to plan ahead, work for it, and earn it.

    Raising and teaching children is probably the most rewarding experiences we can ever do, but this joy is still an investment. We have to put that effort in with everything we have – and some days, even more than that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree completely! I always want people to see that my life isn’t perfect and I some days just don’t get it all done! Some days we live in bliss and have “perfect” days and other days its knock out drag out. Some days I question if I am doing the right thing and other days I am confirmed in my decision. Some days I say goodness wouldn’t it be easier if they went to public school and then some days I am like this is why we homeschool! Its all give and take! You also have to start each day as a new day. Yesterday good or bad is gone. Today is a new day!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happiness never even entered my mind. In all honesty, homeschool was never on my radar until the Lord made it apparent that was the direction He had for our family. It seems homeschooling results in the same as any other life decision when it comes to emotions, large amounts of joy one day, large amounts of “un-joy” the next. The ebb-and-flow of life in this world.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I agree. My take on it: It’s not my job as a parent/teacher to keep my students/kids happy. Their level of happiness isn’t a yardstick for my level of success, as both a parent and a home educator. Sure, I like them to be happy. I want them to be happy, but more importantly I want to be joyfully secure in themselves and in God. I want to see them be able to push through the hard stuff. Resolve conflicts between each other. Handle commitment well and use their freedom responsibly. Treat their neighbour self-lessly and live humbly with, and for, the one Holy, free and gracious God. God isn’t a genie that we can pick up in a tin can, perform a ritual and summon to grant us wishes and happiness. As a parent, neither am I. Loving right; teaching right, includes saying “no”, which is hostile and intolerant to warped ideas of tolerance, influenced by eastern ideas of perpetual inner happiness. ‘The joy of the Lord is our strength,’ may it always be so.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Great advice! Honesty about the challenges of homeschooling is very important. There are still a few prevalent misconceptions about homeschooling, and the “happiness factor” is one of them. (Not, as you pointed out, to be confused with joy, which comes from outside us.)

    We need to be transparent about those tough days if we’re going to paint an accurate picture of what we do. I tell my teenage daughter all the time: “I could make you happy with my decision, but that’s not going to prepare you for the real world.” Besides, conflict resolution is a skill that best begins at home.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Is Happiness a Factor For Choosing Homeschooling? — A Homeschool Mom – Guinea Conakry Presidential Election 2020.

Leave a Reply

