Ooops, Guess I Forgot to Teach That

guess_i_forgot_to_teach_thatA friend and I were laughing over a parental and educational misstep we had both made in our children’s lives. In this day and age of velcro and slip-ons, we had both failed to teach our children how to tie shoes.

Normally, children are to be taught the skill of tying shoes in kindergarten. They spend various amounts of time practicing, perfecting their form until they can confidently tie their laces. For some reason, this ability seemed to have escaped both our attentions. It wasn’t until my oldest was in first grade, perhaps second, when she finally had the need to tie a bow and it wasn’t on a pair of shoes!

It caught me by complete surprise, that in all of my teaching, I had forgotten this one, simple task. How is it I had forgotten to teach them how to tie a bow? Easy; they didn’t have any shoe laces and I had always tied up the bows on their dresses.

I wished to remedy my failure, so teach them I did. They learned very quickly and loved practicing their new-found ability. To this day, not many pairs of my children’s shoes have laces and my son doesn’t have anything with bows, but we’ve learned the skill set and accomplished another goal.

It does bring up an interesting question: Is learning to tie a bow that important?

We came across THIS ARTICLE which brings up the controversial discussion that shoe-tying isn’t the only life skill we are skipping out on in favor of a more tech-savvy upbringing. In addition to this, experts believe learning to tie shoes is vital in early education, as THIS ARTICLE mentions.

No matter what the experts have to say on the issue, knowledge is a good thing. As we are reminded of skills we seem to have skipped, we visit these areas of learning and increase in wisdom.

Besides failing to teach shoe tying, there was a time we skipped over our A, B, C’s in favor of teaching phonetics. Logic is a formal area of study we are just now implementing in our learning routine. Let’s face it, there will always be small gaps in our learning. May God help us move past these minor parenting fails, and encourage us to continue meeting our children’s needs.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.”
~ Proverbs 3:5-6

📢 Chime In!: Has there been an area of education you’ve forgotten to teach? We’d love to hear your stories!

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

9 thoughts on “Ooops, Guess I Forgot to Teach That

  1. I focused primarily on sounding out words and realized later on that my son struggled with sight words. I wanted him to understand why words sound the way they do without just memorizing the image of a word. I believe that’s why many adults struggle with reading unfamiliar words because we don’t remember the “rules”. My son has slowly picked up on sight words, but I totally overlooked trying to teach them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Riding a bike is a hard one. Frankly, I’ve never been able to do it. As it turns out, I have an inner ear issue which effects my balance. (humph)

      If you’re looking for a fun typing program, you might try: freetypinggame.net . It’s pretty neat!

      Social media presence? Hmmm… I’d be interested in hearing more on this topic.

      Like

  2. It’s near impossible for homeschoolers to do everything in their own strength. I’m humbled by the still-small voice that confronts our limitations, and reminds all of us that there are blind spots we’ve overlooked or need correcting. I’m thankful that God leads and goes out of His way to invite us to follow.

    P.S.: Best way to teach how to tie shoe-laces: lolly string.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

