Is Self Awareness a Thing of the Past?

is-self-awareness_a_thing_of_the_pastHave you ever been in a quiet setting and had someone rudely interrupt with a loud comment? I have. I find this highly annoying and equally frustrating. My opposition isn’t necessarily to the comments, but rather to the timing of them. I imagine others might feel the same. And what about the acquaintance who felt the need to point out your growing waist line?

A recent homeschool outing brought this issue front and center for me. I often wonder if people have a lost their “buffer zone”. The little place inside all of us which tells us when something really needs to be said or if we need to restrain ourselves. I wonder why it is certain people don’t seem to recognize when a comment is out-of-place, either by its timing or purely by its existence.

Since these events, it occurs to me that perhaps I need to be taking better stock of my kids’ “buffer zone”. Do they speak at times when it is best to remain quiet? Do they say things which ought not to be said? I would hate to be out somewhere with my children and find myself slinking down in my chair, due to the ridiculous nonsense which just came out of one of their mouths.

I think all of us have moments when, upon reflection, we ask ourselves, “Why did I just say that?” The key is to learn from those situations and not to repeat them. Unfortunately some people not only fail to reassess, but they find this character trait amusing.

Through training and discipleship, we hope to make our children both more self-aware and sensitive to the leading of the Spirit. We try to keep our children conscious of their surroundings and the appropriate decorum therewith. Thankfully, this doesn’t seem to be a frequent occurrence and is often a teaching moment for all of us.

May the Lord continue to do a work in our homes and in our children, continually drawing us closer and making us more like Himself. Through His leading, our heart is to see people as God sees them and to use our lives as a way to reach people for His Kingdom. May we do this through our words, actions, and character.

“Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers.”
~ I Timothy 4:16

📢 Chime In!: How is the Lord directing you to help your children learn this important skill?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

5 thoughts on “Is Self Awareness a Thing of the Past?

  1. We live in a society where people don’t listen very well, if at all. Everyone is distracted or too focused on expressing their own opinions to care about others’. I tried to teach my kids how important it was to listen, and give good eye contact so the person who’s talking knows they are valued.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think self awareness is important, but not hyper self awareness. That can be so damaging when we teach children this way. If you find a child is apologizing for something they said the day before, hours before or beating themselves up for it, that is as unhealthy or unhealthier than not caring at all.
    We need to be able to give our children voices as well, and be careful not to stifle them, but also teach self control, guide in using wise words and kindness when speaking.

    I think another thing we all need to learn is to not be as irritated with interruptions. It is a pride thing on both sides at times, but for us, since we can change ourselves, we need to ask why we are irritated by it. “Is what I have to say so important that being interrupted irritates me so bad? What if what came bursting out of the other person was led by God to stop me from saying something I should not have?” Instead of being irritated, extend grace and teach our children to extend grace. Perhaps “In quietness and confidence should be our strength.” Isaiah 30:15, KJV.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a new Christian, I was gung-ho. I struggled to understand why others weren’t as ”sold-out” for Christ as I was. I saw that as apathy, it was toxic and in some cases, it was. In the other cases, however, I had to learn that people express their Christian convictions in different ways. Some pace it out; are more thoughtful, composed and not as mosh-pit-ready, as I was.

    It got me into a LOT of trouble and because of that I learnt quickly. That lesson wasn’t about tolerance, it was about humility. Now, I’m just as mosh-pit-ready, still on that learning curve, but a whole lot wiser in how I share and express that conviction.

    My goal in this area is to teach my kids from that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

