I AM

Whats_in_a_NameWhat’s in a name? A name is more than just something by which we are called; in a sense, it is our reputation. Did you know there are a multitude of names for God? 

Each name unique and powerful; the list is endless. Join us on this exciting adventure through Scripture, where we will learn some amazing verses, talk about how those verses should affect our lives, and discuss some practical ways to make these names “real”.

……

“Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” God said to Moses, ‘I am who I am.’”
Exodus 3:13-15, (emphasis mine)

Have you ever tried to put God in a box? It’s downright impossible. Just when you think you might have a glimmer of what He’ll do, He goes and changes things on you. He never heals the same way twice. No problem is ever solved identically. Perhaps this is why God refers to Himself simply as I AM.

Discussion – This verse speaks to me. God is many things, and yet none of those names completely describe who or what He is! He simple is. He is everything good, holy, beautiful, loving, and kind. The list could go on. He is. He is all-powerful, all-knowing, all-seeing. He is.

While our human nature wishes we could figure out what God is up to, He challenges our notions of who He is and continually shows us more of Himself. He is more than we could imagine, more than we could dream. His fullness is beyond our understanding.

Activity – For today, I wish to focus my children’s attentions towards who God is to them personally. This is not an opportunity for Mom to tell them what God has done for them. Rather, this is a moment for them to reflect on their own hearts and give thanks for His gifts.

To this end we will be making a Christmas Chain! Colorful strips of paper clutter our crafting area, encouraging our children to nab as many as they need. On each slip, we acknowledge all He is and what He has done in our own lives. Our chain will decorate our learning area, a daily Christmas reminder of all the ‘I AM’ statements God has written on our own hearts and minds.

Prayer – Lord, we thank you. Today and always. You are… everything good. Continue to make Yourself known to us. Drawn us closer to You and teach of Your ways. Write Your names upon our hearts, minds, and souls. Cover us, fill us, and overflow us with Your Spirit. Amen

As Popeye would say, “I ams what I am, and that’s all that I ams.” How true of our God. He is what He is. There will never be a perfect explanation of His glory. Human words will never be enough. May God continue to reveal Himself to each of us and bring us closer during this Christmas season.

“Jesus said to them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am.'”
John 8:58

🎄Time to Chime In: White lights or colored lights on your Christmas tree?

 Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter, & Pinterest

3 thoughts on “I AM

Leave a Reply

