Am I Gentle & Quiet?

am_i_gentle_quietI have a confession. I am not the graceful lady quietly leading her children in their studies, while symphonies play in the background. No, I’m the one who is dancing around the kitchen trying to balance cooking lunch with teaching science all while rock music is screaming in the background. For years I’ve struggled with what it means to have a gentle and quiet spirit. You know the one I’m supposed to possess and exhibit? Then, the Lord spoke to my heart and I was inspired.

You know those moms who just ooze grace and loveliness? They’re beautiful, aren’t they? While I admire them, they always left me feeling somehow inadequate. Recently, the Lord shared something with me. A gentle and quiet spirit is not something seen on the outside, it’s a matter of the heart.

Being Gentle – I once heard gentleness defined as strength under restraint. Gentleness is not weakness, just the opposite. It’s choosing not to use the strength we possess to cause harm. Before the Lord, gentleness is exhibited by showing a willingness to be led. As a lamb would, I do not fight my Maker, but willingly go where He leads. I am open to His prodding and listen when He speaks. Which leads us to…

Being Quiet – In order to do what God asks of me, I must first be able to hear His voice. I need to be able to discern His instruction amidst the shouting of the world around me. Drawing closer to Him, I am more easily able to ignore the noise and focus on His instruction. In being quiet, I am sensitive to the sound of His voice. Open to hearing God’s Word.

Being gentle and quiet doesn’t mean I can’t climb that mountain or dance with my children to rock music. This isn’t about how I relate to others, but where my heart is before God. As I become closer to Him, others will see the gentle and quiet spirit within. Hidden though it might be behind the giggles and chasing after my kids.

Do these ladies I so admire have gentle and quiet spirits? I pray they do. But, looks can be deceiving. More importantly, comparisons are harmful. When I see ladies who inspire me toward righteousness, instead of judging myself against their actions, I ought to be praying for them. Praying their outer self is a direct reflection of their inner self. Praying I would see them as God sees them. And praying I would spend less time focusing on them and more time sitting at His feet.

My gentle and quiet spirit is a work in progress. One I will be working on until the day I go to be with the Lord. Until then, be gentle with me. I’m not quite there yet.

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”
I Peter 3:4

📢 Chime In!: How are you inspired to have a gentle and quiet spirit?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

9 thoughts on “Am I Gentle & Quiet?

  1. I see those women like you and to be honest sometimes I become jealous. But then I start to think maybe their life is not as perfect as I see it and it is a reflection of my own insecurities. Then I look at my life and family and realize we are perfect in our way…the way we are supposed to be 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Truly humbling, my friend, as I sure you, we are not perfect and often feel ‘less than’.

      This brings to mind something my husband has often repeated, “Everyone has their own struggles. Just because you can’t see them, doesn’t mean they don’t exist. Be grateful for the struggles you deal with, you might not be able to handle theirs.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Men wrestle with this stuff too. It’s harder for those who’ve been at war with themselves, and others for a good portion of their life. Words like quiet & gentle can be interpreted as “be a doormat”, or “be a super nice guy”. So when I read quiet & gentle I hear something like confident, matured adolescence or spiritual maturity, not refined, stoic timidity. For ‘God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-control’ (Paul to Timothy, 2nd letter, 1:7). As far as comparing ourselves with others and its paralysing affect on our own creativity, I like what I’ve been seeing spoken a bit about in recent days, “Stay in your own God-ordained lane”. Let your unique contribution be exactly that. Let the quality that shines as a result speak for itself.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

