Waiting For ‘Real’ Ministry to Begin

Waiting For 'Real' Ministry to BeginDo you ever feel as if you’re not moving forward in ministry? You desire to serve the Lord, but where would you find the time? There’s learning which needs to be done, a house which needs to be cleaned, meals which need fixing, and a world of responsibility sitting at your feet the moment you open your eyes each morning. My friends, if you’re waiting for the ‘real’ ministry to begin, it already has!

The ministry which surrounds us daily might not be glamorous; no one outside our immediate family may ever know our name or see the impact we make on the world around us. This does not make our ministry less real. The roles we are currently playing are vital and as real as it gets.

The Ministry of Marriage – The Lord is constantly reminding me that marriage is more than a relationship, it is a ministry. We are connected, but it is a bond which requires work and a call to serve the Lord together. Done right, our marriage will point people to God and His saving grace.

The Ministry of Parenting – We have a unique call to train and disciple the next generation of adults. Positively a full-time role in ministry. Never let anyone tell you otherwise.

The Ministry of Education – As we teach our littles, we have the unique ability to reach their hearts, souls, and minds for Christ. Every lesson builds and strengthens, helping our children increase for God’s glory.

The Ministry of Friendship – We thank God for the few people He has brought into our lives who minister to us in this capacity. That girlfriend who just stops by to say hello? You just made our day. The gentleman who calls to encourage my husband and ask how His Bible study is going? Love that! Where would we be without awesome friends who take time just to ask how we’re doing, and occasionally stop in for a visit.

The Ministry of Edification – We might not have physically met, but our goal here at A Homeschool Mom is to edify everyone who reads these pages. While we’re perusing your thoughts, questions, and helpful tips, we’re often edified. Together, as brothers and sisters in Christ, we use this blogging community to edify one another, encouraging closer relationships with Christ.

Whenever I start feeling as if I’m not doing enough to serve the Lord, I remember a line from Francesca Battistelli’s song, “He Knows My Name“. It’s not important that my name be in lights. I am not living for applause. The God of the universe knows my name and loves me; just as I am, just where I am. He has me here for a reason, and He’s asking me to be faithful with what He’s given.

‘Real’ ministry is here and now. It’s not ten years down the road, it’s not ten minutes down the road. It’s right where I am. The real question is, what will I do with the ministry He’s given?

“But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.”

~ Acts 20:24

Your Turn!: Show of hands… Have you read The Ministry of Motherhood?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

6 thoughts on “Waiting For ‘Real’ Ministry to Begin

  1. Such a good reminder! I have often needed the Lord to remind me of this very thing. He also reminds me that the very invisible ministry of prayer is critical to the work I am given to do. May we never neglect His calling!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The Ministry of Marriage – The Lord is constantly reminding me that marriage is more than a relationship, it is a ministry. We are connected, but it is a bond which requires work and a call to serve the Lord together. Done right, our marriage will point people to God and His saving grace.” This is one that is so often missed especially in today’s society. It is a challenge and yet one that is so important and edifying in so many ways!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree. Stay in your own lane & keep moving forward. Look to the Lord and the rest will follow, in His time. Online, it’s hard to look past vanity metrics (the value people place on the number ”likes”, ”shares”, ”comments” and stats). Even harder to see the impact your ministry is having, when those metrics appear to say that you’re just wasting your time. BUT, as with things offline, we walk by faith, not by sight; allowing wisdom to be justified by its actions, ever asking ourselves in humility: if what I’m doing is truly for the Lord or if it’s only done for me?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “The God of the universe knows my name and loves me; just as I am, just where I am. He has me here for a reason, and He’s asking me to be faithful with what He’s given.”
    That statement really summarizes in my mind what ministry is: receiving his love for me, then giving it away to others using the unique gifts that he has blessed me with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

