Factoring Birthdays Into the Homeschool Routine

Factoring_Birthdays_Into_Homeschool_RoutinesFor whatever reason, when we’re planning out our yearly routine, it never enters my mind to factor in birthdays. With four kids, two parents, and several grandparents it might be time to start factoring in the many celebratory days I seem to overlook when creating our homeschooling routine.

If you’ve been following us on any of our social media sites recently, you’ve noticed the stream of birthday posts coming in during the last few months. My kids have birthdays pretty much one month after the other, and those in-between months contain holidays. The fun never stops! Call us funny, but it just doesn’t seem right to make a kid do “school” on their birthday, so we take the day off and do whatever they like. As the teacher, same goes. Pop’s the principle so you know he’s going to want the day off. As for extended family, we’re helping them celebrate so that deserves a day of rest, too.

This doesn’t seem that big a deal, really. Until I remember her birthday happens to land on a test day. Or his birthday is also our routine science experiment activity. Then, the homeschool scramble begins… Do I switch up that test and make her take it the day before her birthday; the day after; do I skip it all together? Should we do makeup work the following day or double the previous so we finish our materials by the end of the school year? It’s crazy, I know.

After several – several – years of homeschooling, you’d think I’d have this down to a science, but this always slips my mind. Their birthdays are firmly imprinted in my mind. I know we’ll be taking the day off. Yet, every single time, I forget to include this factor on our homeschool calendar. Meaning, I forget to mark down, “No school today. Birthday.” Essentially ignoring all dates what-so-ever, and only focusing on routine. Instead I happily plod along and mark down, “Arithmetic Test Today”. It’s not until the week before the special event I actually look at the dates on my nicely organized homeschool calendar and realize my mistake. Then, I scramble. This is especially true when one honey’s birthday happens to always land during the last week of school. You know, wrap up week? Goodness.

It’s a laughing matter, truly. What’s a few days here or there? The moments spent together far outweigh the issue of missed work or tests not taken. It’s merely the fact I overlook this each and every year which continues to amaze me. Perhaps by the time my youngest graduates high school I’ll finally have it down. Then again, who knows?!

“This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”
~ Psalm 118:24

Your Turn!: Do you pencil birthdays into your homeschool calendar or routine?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

 

2 thoughts on “Factoring Birthdays Into the Homeschool Routine

Leave a Reply

