To The ‘Cadets’ In My Charge

A letter to those whom I’ve been asked to train, disciple, and raise up. May you hear myTo_The_Cadets heart in this message and put into practice the wisdom you find here.

Dear Young Trainees,

I have been given a commission from our Commander to train you up in the way you should go. I am to disciple you, discipline you, and get you ready for what lies ahead. While we have already begun our basic training, I would like to take a few moments to remind you of several things.

We are ALL Soldiers

As I was reminded recently myself, let me remind you… you are still young and growing; do not expect perfection in your training. None-the-less, let me assure you, no matter the age, we are ALL called to be soldiers of Christ.

Daily we battle our flesh, the world, and the devil. We are to fight against those things which would prevent us from having a full relationship with our Commander, Christ. 

Let me also assure you that, while I am one of the drills in charge of your training, I too am still a work in progress. Unfortunately, my training started ‘on the job’. You did not come with a field guide, a manual, or a YouTube tutorial. I receive new instruction on a minute-by-minute basis from my Commander and am doing my best to be all that you need. 

The Battle is Real

While you are still under my protection, the battle which we fight is kept from being fully known to you. It is my responsibility to ensure you have a good foundation before you take on these bigger battles. Use your training time wisely and become well grounded before heading out into full-scale war.

However, I need to assure you there is a real battle going on. Our enemy is waging a war for your soul and of those around you. The enemy wishes to see you struggle, fall, and remain defeated. Do not listen to his lies, follow the narrow path which you have been called to walk. 

I’m Just Doing My Job

Training is not easy, I fully understand this. Who likes having to do KP, those thousand push-ups, or take pesky training exams? But, if you are going to be ready for life after basic training, you need all these things! 

Please understand when I hand out duties I am simply trying to do my job, which is to train up the next generation of drills and soldiers. I am following the commands given to me by the officer in charge and my Commander. I do not do this because I am trying to be mean, but because it’s necessary.

Insubordination is Unacceptable

A certain amount of craziness is to be expected on a daily basis. One thing which is never acceptable is insubordination; refusing to do what has been commanded. Again, I understand not everything being asked of you is fun, however this does not justify a lack of obedience. 

Remember, my instructions do not come from myself, but from those higher up. When you choose to disobey me, you disobey the officer in charge and our Commander. Make life easier on all of us… just do it!

Training is Everything

Once again, your training is of vital importance. You NEED to learn how to do these things put before you; your future welfare depends on it. The tasks being given to you are well thought out, important, and meant to be challenging so that you will grow in your independence. 

Before you are ready to move on, you must first have a firm foundation. You need to not only know WHAT you believe, but WHY you believe it. You must also understand how to put those beliefs into action. You need to be able to stand firm in your beliefs and defend them against the world and our enemy. 

We pray you have fun while moving through your training, but we also pray you take this seriously. We want you to enjoy your experience, but also put your heart, mind, and hand to the task. Do not waste a moment taking life for granted. We are never promised tomorrow.

I Do It Because I Love You

Remember, my little charges… I love you, truly. I do all I do because I love you and want you to succeed in the battles ahead. In those moments when the skirmish seems overwhelming, may our Commander remind you that you are loved, not only be me and the officer in charge, but also by the Commander Himself. 

While I tend to be firm and require respect, please note… I am also willing to accept hugs. There is nothing in our rule book which states a drill cannot either give or accept affection. Please feel free to approach and offer such demonstrations should you feel these actions might be warranted. It should also be noted that I, too, reserve the right to make similar demonstrations.

Always remember, we are here to help you. We love you and want you to succeed. Take your training seriously and give it your best. Remember for Whom we fight. May His name be glorified forever and ever.

In His Name,
Your Drill 

“I may never march in the infantry, ride in the cavalry, shoot the artillery. I may never soar o’er the enemy. But, I’m in the Lord’s Army. Yes, sir!”

🔔Time to Chime In: Whether drill or the officer in charge, we are all commanded to train up our children in the way they should go. How do you ensure your charges are receiving the training needed?

We’d love to see you in action! Instagram your homeschool inspired ideas & projects with the hashtag #A_HomeschoolMom & you might find your picture featured on AHM’s Instagram!

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

5 thoughts on “To The ‘Cadets’ In My Charge

  1. My friend has this cool system. She calls her kids her Knights, Red knight, Green knight and Blue Knight. She has an acronym, KILT, for kindness, integrity, loyalty and truth. The knights of the kilt. They are expected to have the courage to do what needs to be done, to be her heroes in work and in play and always be courtly gentlemen to the ladies. They rise to the occasion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

